CLASS OF 2021 – Laura Smith

As another busy week continues in the Production Arts department, heading fast for the end of term, we spent some time with another of our third year students. Today it’s Laura Smith who is on a down day from her final allocation as Stage Manager of Opera Makers 2021 which opens tomorrow night.

Laura calling A Midsummer Night’s Dream Photo – Mihaela Bodlovic

Thanks for spending some time to catch up with us Laura, where are you from originally?

I’m from Nottingham, in the Midlands.

And what drew you to stage Management, as something you wanted to get into?

The people first and foremost, working with a team of people all passionate about the material being created and utilising their skills to bring this from Model box to Stage.

So what brought you to Guildhall, three years ago?

The opportunities to work in Opera Stage Management initially attracted me to the school.

Photo – Mihaela Bodlovic

Totally understand that, and while you have been here, what’s been your proudest achievement?

Stage Managing the Stage Concert Version of this year’s Spring Opera The Little Green Swallow by Jonothan Dove. 

After the national Lockdown preventing us form fully realising this show, I am so proud of my team who in a very short turnaround got all of the props and costume back from across the UK (where artists had been filming at home), staffed fast paced staging sessions and cued and ran wings for a very busy show via a WhatsApp group call!  We defeated all the odds to get that show on stage and I’m so proud of what the Company achieved. 

Laura’s Graduation Project – modelled by fellow third year Sam Liquorish

Certainly a moment to be proud of, all of you should be all the amazing work you have managed to put together this year in such difficult circumstances. What did you do for your Graduation project for your degree?

For my graduation project I designed and made a garment inspired by the Rivers of Scotland. Over 6 weeks I created a silk garment with traditional pleated tartan and a velvet bodice. It was a great opportunity to further enhance my sewing skills and understand in much greater depth the design process of a garment. 

A great end result and an opportunity to use some of your skills that you don’t always use as part of Stage Management, What will you miss most about your time at the school?

I’ll miss the hustle and bustle of Milton Court, walking into the same building each day with familiar faces. Guildhall is one big community, and nothing can quite replicate that. I have had the opportunity to work with some incredible Creative teams during my time and whilst I will miss these, I shall continue to use the knowledge I gained through working with them! 

Photo – James Clutton

And in what direction do you want to take the skills you have learnt on the Stage management pathway?

I would love to continue exploring the world of Opera Stage Management. My placement with Opera Holland Park was an incredible opportunity which allowed me to access Opera on a whole new scale! Equally I really want to return to musical theatre again and as the West End and Regional venues begin to open, I hope that I can experience this. 

What are some of your career ambitions?

The Pandemic has caused the Theatre world to adapt significantly, and I can’t wait to follow and join this journey as a graduate and see our industry thrive again! 

Thank you for your time Laura, I hope the opening night of Opera Makers 2021 goes well, and we look forward to seeing what you do in the future.

Leave a comment